News & Announcements

Just Announced!  2024 IEEE Power & Energy Society Award Recipients

We are excited to share that the 2024 IEEE Power & Energy Society Award recipients have been announced! Each year, we are proud to highlight leading society members and industry principals for their notable contributions to IEEE Power & Energy Society and the power and energy industry through the following distinct honors and awards. Join us in celebrating the 2024 IEEE PES Awards recipients at the 2024 IEEE PES General Meeting on Tuesday, July 23rd at 7pm in Seattle, WA.  The awards gala tickets can be purchased here.
View our list of 2024 IEEE PES Award recipients below
Award Awardee Citation
Dennis Woodford
For pioneering contributions to electro-magnetic transients simulation.
Nanchao Zeng
For outstanding achievements in HVDC transmission technology, especially the control and protection technologies, and for driving the development of HVDC transmission in China.
Ayman M. EL-Refaie
For advanced electrical machines for transportation and aerospace systems.
Amir Miragha
In recognition of contributions to the research, development, and field implementation of smart grid devices and technologies at the distribution level.
Stanley Atcitty
For leadership and innovation in rural electrification of U.S. tribal nations.
Subrahmanyam S. Venkata
For commitment to IEEE and lifelong pioneering contributions to practical implementation, planning, and automation of electric transmission and distribution.
Mark A. Reynolds
For pioneering contributions in modeling, design, development, testing, commissioning, and standardization of FACTS Controllers.
Xuan Wu
For leadership connecting industry and academia, and for technical contributions to grid reliability, resilience, and security.
Ryan Quint
For industry leadership and technical contributions to the reliable and secure integration of inverter-based resources to the electric power system.
Alan C. Rotz
For contributions to technical activities, especially in the Substations Committee, expanding the international footprint of IEEE, and lifelong dedication to IEEE and to the administration of the Society.
Chongqing Kang
For contribution to education and mentoring in low-carbon power systems engineering.
Henry Louie
For contributions to undergraduate education in the area of electricity access.
Marija D. Ilic
For pioneering contributions to hierarchical and distributed modeling and control of large power systems.
Babak Enayati
For contributions to creation, refinement, and applications of interconnection standards for renewable energy.
Joseph A. Kalasky
For contributions and leadership to IEEE and PES professional activities in support of careers, industry relations, member ethics and conduct, and government relations.
Lalit Goel
For contributions to power system reliability evaluation and cost/benefit assessment.
Aniruddha Gole
For contributions to modelling and analysis for HVDC converters and systems.
Hong Chen
For contributions in leading strategic technology development in PES and power grid operation.
Authors:  Qinran Hu, Rushuai Han, Xiangjun Quan, Zaijun Wu, Chenghong Tang, Wei Li, and Wei Wang
"“Grid-Forming Inverter Enabled Virtual Power Plants with Inertia Support Capability” IEEE Transactions on Smart Grid, vol. 13, no. 5, pp. 4134-4143, Sept 2022"
Authors: Guannan He, Dharik S. Mallapragada, Abhishek Bose, Clara F. Heuberger and Emre Gencer
"Hydrogen Supply Chain Planning with Flexible Transmission and Storage Scheduling” IEEE Transactions on Sustainable Energy, vol. 12, no. 3, pp. 1730-1740, July 2021"
IEEE PES Working Group Outstanding Standard
Chair: Jens C. Boemer, Vice Chairs: Bob Cummings, Babak Enayati, Ross Guttromson, Mahesh Morjaria, Chenhui Niu, Manish Patel, Secretary: Diwakar Tewari
IEEE PES Working Group Outstanding Technical Report
Chair: Martin Best, Vice-Chair: Amin Zamani
IEEE PES Frank Lambert Outstanding Chapter Awards (large)
Winner: Boston (Region 1), Chapter Chair Amsa Mangga), Central Texas (Region 5), Chapter Chair Eric Meier, Runner UP:Nanjing (Region 10), Chapter Chair Yi Tang
IEEE PES Frank Lambert Outstanding Chapter Awards (medium)
Winner: Thailand (Region 10), Chapter Chair Wilas Chaloeysat, North New Jersey (Region 1), Chapter Chair Ronald Quade, Runner Up: Queensland (Region 10), Chapter Chair Dr. Feifei Bai
IEEE PES Frank Lambert Outstanding Chapter Awards (small)
Lebanon (Region 8), Chapter Chair Mohamad Arnaout  Runner Up: Galveston Bay (Region 5), Chapter Chair Zafar Taqvi
*Note, the IEEE PES individual award pages will be updated with 2024 recipients’ details once received.