IEEE PES Charles Concordia Power Systems Engineering Award

About the Award

The Power & Energy Society calls for the nomination of outstanding individuals to receive the IEEE PES Charles Concordia Power Systems Engineering Award. This award recognizes outstanding Power System Engineering contributions. Electrification is the most important engineering accomplishment in the 20th century according to the National Academy of Engineering. A significant part of this accomplishment has been the development of high-voltage power systems throughout the world. These developments come from the work of dedicated engineers who have devoted their careers to the utilization and enhancement of high-voltage bulk power systems.

View the award chair and committee members.


Nick Miller

Committee Members:

Joe Chow
Ralph D. Masiello
John Paserba
Pouyan Pourbeik

Juan Sanchez Gasca
2022 Award Recipient

Juan J. Sanchez-Gasca for contributions to the analysis and modeling of transient and small-signal stability of power systems.

about icon awards white

Applications are accepted from 1 October - 31 January

about icon awards white

Nominate a Colleague! Submission Deadline: 31 January

Award Details


To recognize outstanding Power System Engineering contributions.


The award consists of an engraved plaque and an honorarium of $5000. The award is named for a man who has contributed greatly to power system engineering during a long career (1926 to 2003). His contributions to the technical advancements of Power System Dynamics during the 20th century are unequaled.


Nominees for the award must have been an IEEE PES member for at least 10 years with tangible and visible achievements in one or more of the following areas of high-voltage bulk power system engineering: operations, planning, control, modeling, analysis, and interaction with turbine-generators. Selection factors include:

  • Technical accomplishments relating to high-voltage bulk power system engineering
  • Impact of the contributions on high-voltage bulk power systems
  • Originality or innovative nature of the contributions
  • Achievements in other fields
  • Professional leadership


One award is given per year. If no suitable candidate is proposed in a given year, the award will not be presented for that year.

IMPORTANT NOTES: Nomination forms must be written in English. One per year. If no suitable candidate is proposed in a given year, the award will not be presented for that year.

PES, being one of IEEE’s Organizational Units, follows IEEE Policy 4.4H:

  • Eligibility and Process Limitations. Individuals serving on any board or committee involved at any stage of the recipient selection or approval process for an award shall be ineligible to receive, or act as a nominator or reference for that award. This conflict of interest limitation shall apply to all awards given by the IEEE or any of its organizational units

Previous Award Recipients

2020 Award Recipient – Kenneth E. Martin
2019 Award Recipient – Innocent Kamwa
2018 Award Recipient – Carson W. Taylor
2017 Award Recipient – Olgun Alsac and Brian Stott
2014 Award Recipient – Joe Hong Chow
2012 Award Recipient – Leonard (Len) Garver
View More Past Award Winners

Past Recipients:

2003 – Paul de Mello
2004 – William F. Tinney
2005 – Prabha S. Kundur
2006 – John Undrill
2007 – Richard Farmer
2008 – Einar V. Larsen
2009 – Ralph Masiello
2011 – Hermann W. Dommel