IEEE PES Uno Lamm High Voltage Direct Current Award

About the Award

The IEEE Power & Energy Society calls for the nomination of outstanding individuals to receive the IEEE PES Uno Lamm High Voltage Direct Current (HVDC) Award. This award recognizes outstanding contributions to HVDC technology. The technology has developed into an effective power system tool for long-distance energy transport, ac network interconnections, and system stability enhancement. These developments have come from the work of dedicated engineers and scientists in many countries throughout the world.

View the award chair and committee members.


Abhay Kumar

Committee Members:

Barker, C.
Barnes, M.
Haeusler, M.
Hong, R.
Pathirana, V.
Rashwan, M.
Salimi, M.

Rambabu Adapa
2023 Award Recipient

Rambabu Adapa for advancing DC system representation in transient stability and electromagnetic transient programs, forwarding research in conversion of AC lines to DC lines, and advancing HVDC related education globally.

about icon awards white

Nominate a Colleague! Submission Deadline: 31 January

Award Details


To recognize outstanding contributions to HVDC technology.


The award consists of a bronze medal, a plaque, and an honorarium of $1,000. The award is named for the man most responsible for the research and development that led to the first practical application of an HVDC connection between ac systems.


Persons in the electric power engineering international community who have been or are heavily involved in the development and advancement of HVDC technology shall be eligible to receive this Award. Membership in the IEEE or the Power & Energy Society is not a prerequisite. Selection factors include:

  • Candidate Achievements
  • Candidate’s technical accomplishments relating to HVDC
  • Originality or innovative  nature of the contributions
  • Impact of the contributions on HVDC technology and on energy transport in general
  • Achievements in other fields
  • Professional leadership


Nomination forms must be written in English. One per year. If no suitable candidate is proposed in a given year, the award will not be presented for that year.

PES, being one of IEEE’s Organizational Units, follows IEEE Policy 4.4H.
IEEE Policy 4.4.H

  • Eligibility and Process Limitations. Individuals serving on any board or committee involved at any stage of the recipient selection or approval process for an award shall be ineligible to receive, or act as a nominator or reference for that award. This conflict of interest limitation shall apply to all awards given by the IEEE or any of its organizational units.

Previous Award Recipients

2022 Award Recipient – Colin Davidson
2021 Award Recipient – Hans Bjorklund
2020 Award Recipient – Hartmut Huang
2019 Award Recipient – Abhay Kumar (Jain)
2018 Award Recipient – Hong Rao
2017 Award Recipient – Zehong Liu
2015 Award Recipient – Rainier Marquardt
View More Past Award Winners

Past Recipients:

1981 – Erich Uhlmann
1983 – John D. Ainsworth
1985 – Narain G. Hingorani
1987 – Karl-Werner Kanngiesser
1989 – Aleksa Gavrilovic
1990 – Glenn D. Breuer
1991 – Birger Funke
1992 – Carlos A. Peixoto
1993 – Donald M. Demarest
1994 – Thomas E. Calverley
1995 – Ake Ekstrom
1996 – John Reeve
1997 – Jos Arrillaga
1998 – Tadashi Senda
1999 – Chandra Krishnayya
2001 – Dusan Povh
2002 – Conrad Beriger
2003 – Gote Liss
2004 – Dennis A. Woodford
2005 – Michael L. Woodhouse
2006 – Gunnar Asplund
2007 – Peter Lips
2008 – Willis F. Long
2009 – Marcio Szechtman
2010 – Mohamed M. Rashwan
2012 – Bjarne R. Andersen
2014 – Jose Antonio Jardini