IEEE PES Peter W. Sauer Outstanding Power Engineering Educator Award

About the Award

IEEE PES Peter W. Sauer Outstanding Power Engineering Educator Award is presented to outstanding electric power engineering educators who have excelled in teaching. Up to two recipients will be selected (a) Undergraduate Power Engineering Educator and (b) Graduate Power Engineering Educator.

View the award chair and committee members.


Antonio Gomez-Exposito
Tom Overbye

Committee Members:

Joe H. Chow
Maria Ilic
Shmuel Oren
Sakis Meliopoulos
Mariesa Crow

Athanasios Meliopoulos
2023 Award Recipient

Athanasios P. Meliopoulos for contributions to power system education in protection, control and operation.

about icon awards white

Applications are accepted from 1 October - 31 January

about icon awards white

Nominate a Colleague! Submission Deadline: 31 January

Award Details


Awarded to outstanding electric power engineering educators who have excelled in teaching. Up to two recipients will be selected (a) Undergraduate Power Engineering Educator and (b) Graduate Power Engineering Educator. Throughout his 45-year career, Dr. Peter W. Sauer (Pete) made outstanding contributions to the electric power field in research, teaching and service. What is particularly unique about Pete is not just that he is a superstar in many aspects of our profession (research, engineering education, and professional service), but that he accomplishes this with great humility and selfless service to all in our profession, ranging from the most accomplished to the undergraduates just beginning their professional journeys. Throughout his career Pete strongly valued university education, particularly to undergraduates.


An active IEEE PES Member (Member Grade or higher) for at least three calendar years. The Undergraduate Power Engineering Educator honors outstanding undergraduate teaching which includes conducting a classroom instruction in electrical engineering at a college or university with an accredited program in electrical engineering or equivalent. Must have taught, preferably, for less than 25 years (time spent as a teaching assistant does not count towards eligibility for this award) The Graduate Power Engineering Education Award honors outstanding graduate teaching, which includes commitment to academic excellence; attention to individual student needs, interests, and development; excellent teaching of graduate courses; and service on thesis and dissertation committees. No current members of the IEEE Board of Directors, IEEE PES Governing Board, PES Awards & Recognition Committee, the IEEE PES Peter Sauer Outstanding Power Engineering Educator Award, or IEEE staff may be candidates or nominate or endorse candidates for this award.

Basis for Judging:

Recipients are expected to have made an outstanding contribution to education, whose impact extends beyond the individual’s institution of employment. Criteria considered include (but are not limited to):

  • Development and implementation of teaching/learning tools that are or can be made available to students and instructors worldwide and have gained documented acceptance by students and professors;
  • Impact (i.e. Publications based on supervised Undergraduate final works; additional recognitions; service as IEEE Student Branch Counselor/Advisor)
  • Documented excellence in teaching;
  • Involvement with and direction of undergraduate & graduate students to prepare them for successful engineering careers;
  • Curriculum development with inclusion of current research and knowledge that reflects the state of the art in courses, and
  • Authorship of educational material.
  • All scores will be anonymous, tallied and distributed to the award committee for review & discussion.
The committee will review the results and vote to determine the recipient. There will be no ties. The result will be shared with the PES Awards Chair for final review and approval. The PES Awards Chair shares the outcome with the VP of Strategic Communications and Partnership. Presentation: Typically the award presentations shall be made at a PES Meeting/Conference.


Up to two (2) recipients with a maximum of one per category (a) Undergraduate Power Engineering Educator and (b) Graduate Power Engineering Educator. – Each recipient will receive $1,000 USD, a plaque and up to $1,000 USD travel reimbursement for the recipient to attend the PES Awards ceremony.

IMPORTANT NOTES: Nomination forms must be written in English. One per year. If no suitable candidate is proposed in a given year, the award will not be presented for that year.

PES, being one of IEEE’s Organizational Units, follows IEEE Policy 4.4H:

  • Eligibility and Process Limitations. Individuals serving on any board or committee involved at any stage of the recipient selection or approval process for an award shall be ineligible to receive, or act as a nominator or reference for that award. This conflict of interest limitation shall apply to all awards given by the IEEE or any of its organizational units

Previous Award Recipients

2022 Award Recipient – Joe Hong Chow
2021 Award Recipient – Shmuel S. Oren
2020 Award Recipient – Marija Ilic
2019 Award Recipient – Antonio Gomez-Exposito
2018 Award Recipient – Antonio J. Conejo
2017 Award Recipient – Claudio Adrian Canizares
2016 Award Recipient – Mariesa L. Crow
View More Past Award Winners

Past Recipients:

1989 – Hermann W. Dommel
1990 – Herbert H. Woodson
1991 – Arun G. Phadke
1992 – Roy Billinton
1993 – Abdel-Aziz A. Fouad
1994 – Anjan Bose
1995 – Gerald Thomas Heydt
1996 – S. S. (Mani) Venkata
1997 – Peter W. Sauer
1998 – Chanan Singh
1999 – Mohamed E. El-Hawary
2000 – Vijay Vittal
2001 – Charles A. Gross
2002 – Bruce F. Wollenberg
2003 – Leo Grigsby
2004 – Chen-Ching Liu
2005 – Robert J. Thomas
2006 – James S. Thorp
2007 – Göran Andersson
2008 – Ned Mohan
2009 – Lalit Goel
2010 – Richard G. Farmer
2011 – Thomas J. Overbye
2012 – Mohammed Shahidehpour
2013 – Saifur Rahman
2014 – Ali Abur
2015 – Ross Baldick