IEEE PES Nari Hingorani FACTS Award

About the Award

To recognize individuals who have made a major contribution to the state of the art of FACTS (Flexible AC Transmission System) technology and its applications. The IEEE definition of FACTS is: Alternating Current Transmission Systems incorporating power electronics-based and other static controllers to enhance controllability and power transfer capability. By this definition, the FACTS concept, in addition to the hardware, software and applications work carried out since its introduction, incorporates considerable prior work done on Static Var Compensators and other static Controllers.

View the award chair and committee members.

Committee Chair, IEEE PES Nari Hingorani FACTS Award:

Mojtaba Mohaddes

Committee Members:

Daniel Sullivan 
Jung Soo Park
Shukai Xu

Deepakraj Divan
2023 Award Recipient

Deepakraj Divan for contributions to distributed and decentralized dynamic control of transmission and distribution systems.

about icon awards white

Applications are accepted from 1 October - 31 January

about icon awards white

Nominate a Colleague! Submission Deadline: 31 January

Award Details


The IEEE Power & Energy Society will administer these awards through its Awards Committee and the FACTS Awards Committee.

Funded by contributions from the following supporters: Hingorani Power Electronics, Electric Power Research Institute, Westinghouse, GEC-UK, Siemens-Germany, GE Power Systems, and Joyce Hingorani, and administered by the IEEE Foundation.


$2,000, Medal, and Plaque. Travel expenses for the recipient to attend the PES General Meeting to receive the award will be covered by the recipient unless strongly justified. The Award Selection Committee need to approve any requests for travel expenses.


Individuals who have made a major contribution to the state-of-the-art of FACTS technology and its applications. The Award Committee may decide not to give either award if no qualified candidate is nominated.


The citation may be proposed by the person originating the nomination. It will be reviewed and modified as appropriate by the IEEE Power & Energy Society Nari Hingorani FACTS Award Committee.


Factors to be considered in the selection: Candidate’s contribution(s) to FACTS technology; Originality or innovative nature of the contribution(s); Impact of the contribution(s) on FACTS technology; Publications in FACTS; Candidate’s stature in FACTS; Candidate’s period of dominance in FACTS; Achievements in other fields or technologies; Professional activities or involvements. One individual per year selected from nominations for individual accomplishments in the FACTS area.


Presented an IEEE PES sponsored meeting.

Previous Award Recipients

2022 Award Recipient – Mojtaba Mohaddes
2021 Award Recipient – Rajiv K. Varma
2020 Award Recipient – R.P. Sasmal
2018 Award Recipient – Bruce Fardanesh
2015 Award Recipient – Richard Piwko
2014 Award Recipient – Ned Mohan
2013 Award Recipient – Edson H. Watanabe
View More Past Award Winners

Past Recipients:

1999 – Laszlo Gyugui
2000 – David J. Young
2001 – Einar Larsen
2002 – Ibrahim A. Erinmez
2003 – Dusan Povh
2004 – Colin D. Schauder
2005 – Masatoshi Takeda
2006 – Abdel-Aty Edris
2007 – Aniruddha M. Gole
2008 – Xiaoxin Zhou
2010 – Chris Horwill
2011 – John J. Paserba, Jr.
2012 – Stig L. Nilsson