News & Announcements

Announcing! 2023 IEEE PES Elections – PES Officers

The PES Governing Board has approved the following candidates for the offices of 2024/2025 PES President-Elect, PES Treasurer and PES Secretary.  The ballot will be presented to the membership Monday, 17 July.  To be counted, the ballot must be received at the designated location by twelve o’clock noon in the Eastern Time zone on 1 October 2023. 

Individuals may submit a petition to be included in the annual election ballot provided the petition is submitted at least 28 days (18 June) before the date of election. For more information reference PES Bylaw 15.4.

Candidates for PES President-Elect

Claudio Cañizares

University of Waterloo, Waterloo, ON, Canada 

I have been at the University of Waterloo since 1993, where I am a University Professor, Hydro One Chair, and WISE Executive Director.  My highly-cited research with industry and government partners has focused on relevant and practical aspects of power and energy systems in the context of markets and grid-edge technologies like microgrids.  I am the IEEE Trans. Smart Gird EIC; IEEE Division VII Director; a Fellow of the IEEE, Royal Society of Canada, and Canadian Academy of Engineering; and has received multiple awards and recognitions from Waterloo and the PES.

C.Y. Chung

The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Prof. C.Y. Chung is the Head of Department and Chair Professor of Power Systems Engineering in the Department of Electrical Engineering at The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (HKPolyU). He received his B.Eng. (with First Class Honors) and Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering from HKPolyU. He has worked in Canada for the University of Saskatchewan; Powertech Labs, Inc.; and the University of Alberta. His research interests include smart grid, micro grid, and renewable energy. 

Farnoosh Rahmatian

NuGrid Power Corp, Vancouver, BC, Canada

Dr. Rahmatian is a co-founder and president of NuGrid Power Corp.  He has contributed to several techniques for power system measurement and automation over the past 30 years.  He is a Professional Engineer and a Fellow of the IEEE for contribution to optical voltage and current sensors.  He is a past Chair of the IEEE Power & Energy Society’s (PES) Technical Council, active at PES Power System Relaying and Control as well as Power System Instrumentation and Measurements committees.

Candidates for PES Secretary

Mazana Armstrong

British Columbia Hydro, BC, Canada

Dr. Mazana Armstrong is the Manager of Transmission Stations Engineering Division at BC Hydro. She has over 25 years of professional experience in operations, maintenance, and design of high voltage electric power systems, specifically electrical aspects of 69 kV to 500 kV transmission systems. Mazana’s professional contributions include standards development addressing electrical safety of the public, power utility workers and facilities in close proximity of electric power systems.

Ramakrishna Kappagantu

Eficaa Ensmart Solutions Private Limited, Telangana, India

With over 39 years leadership/managerial experience in Indian Power Sector i.e; NTPC and POWERGRID, currently Ramakrishna is Chief Technical Advisor at Eficaa EnSmart Solutions Private Limited for Technical, Strategic and New Initiatives. He earlier made significant contributions towards management of 55 Gigawatt Southern Regional Grid, its complex real time operations, Power Markets, SCADA-EMS and Smart Grid development in India.

Candidates for PES Treasurer

Juan Carlos Montero

ICE Operation and Control Division of the Costa Rican Electrical System (DOCSE)

Juan Carlos Montero is the current IEEE PES Treasurer and the former IEEE PES Vice President of Membership & Image. He has previously held several other volunteer leadership roles within the IEEE Power & Energy Society at the local and international levels. He currently is the IEEE CAPANA Council Chair. He works on the Costa Rican Power System Operator and has more than 20 years’ experience at his company. He is currently the Electrical Operational Planning Coordinator at the Costa Rican National Power Control Center (CENCE). 

Dean Sharafi

Australian Energy Market Operator, Perth Australia 

Dean Sharafi is heading up the System Design and Transformation Group of the Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO). Dean holds a degree in Applied Physics, a degree in Electrical Engineering and a degree in Business Management. He has around 30 years of experience in power system engineering including Power System Protection, HV Systems, Asset Management and Power System and Electricity Market Operation.