Governing Board

2023 Governing Board

The IEEE PES Governing Board is responsible for the administration and management of Society affairs in accordance with the rules and regulations of IEEE and the Constitution, Bylaws and Operations Manual of the Society. 

Gov Board Jessica


Jessica J. Bian

Grid-X Partners • Wayne, IL, USA

Shay Bahramirad


Shay Bahramirad

LUMA Energy • Puerto Rico, USA

Gov Board Saifur

Past President

Saifur Rahman

Virginia Tech • Arlington, VA, USA

Juan Carlos Montero


Juan Carlos Montero Quirós

Costa Rican National Power Control Center • San Jose, Costa Rica

Gov Board Jonathan Sykes


Jonathan Sykes

LUMA Energy • Puerto Rico, USA
Gov Board Claudio Canizares

IEEE Division VII Director

Claudio Cañizares

University of Waterloo • Waterloo, ON, Canada

Chris Root

IEEE Division VII Director-Elect

Christopher Root

CIGRE US National Committee • Quechee, Vermont, USA


Vice President, Strategic Communications & Partnerships

Chan Wong

Ampirical Solutions • Covington, LA, USA

Gov Board Babak Enayati

Vice President, Education

Babak Enayati

New Leaf Energy • Lowell, MA USA

Gov Board Bishop

Vice President, Conferences & Meetings

Wayne Bishop Jr.

Quanta Technology • Raleigh, NC USA

Gov Board Julio Romero Aguero

Vice President, Chapters and Membership

Julio Romero Agüero

Quanta Technology • Houston, TX USA

Nouredine Hadjsaid

Vice President, New Initiatives/Outreach

Nouredine Hadjsaid

Université Grenoble Alpes • Grenoble, France

Gov Board Bikash Pal

Vice President, Publications

Bikash Pal

Professor of Power Systems • Imperial College London , UK

Hong Chen

Vice President, Technical Activities

Hong Chen

PJM Interconnection • Audubon, PA, USA

Ramakrishna Kappagantu

Regional Representative, Asia and Pacific

Ramakrishna Kappagantu

Eficaa Ensmart Solutions Private Limited • Telangana, India


Regional Representative, Europe, Middle East & Africa

Hanan M. Albuflasa

University of Bahrain • Sakhair, Kingdom of Bahrain

Gov Board Santiago Leon

Regional Representative, Latin America

Santiago Leon

CIP-CDL Electrical • Lima, Peru

Mythili Chaganti

Regional Representative, United States and Canada

Mythili Chaganti

CenterPoint Energy • Houston, TX USA

Gov Board Guadalupe Gonzalez

Member At Large, Diversity & Inclusion

Guadalupe González

Secretaría Nacional de Energía • Panama City, Panama


Member At Large, Global Outreach

Nirmal-Kumar C Nair

University of Auckland • Auckland, New Zealand


Member At Large, Student/Young Professional Representative

Anand Shah

Powertech Labs Inc. • Surrey, BC, Canada


Member At Large, Climate Change

Mercy Chelangat K.

University of Texas at Dallas • Richardson, TX, USA

Gov Board Tim Lictra

Executive Director

Tim Licitra

IEEE Power & Energy Society • Piscataway, NJ USA